International symposium on Frontiers of Research in Speech and Music (FRSM) is organized in different parts of India every year since 1990. From 1990 to 2001, it was known as International Workshop on Speech, Music and Allied Signal Processing (IWSMSP). From 2003 (at IIT Kanpur), it changed its name to the present form i.e. Frontiers of Research on Speech and Music (FRSM). Till date, these symposiums were held at Kolkata, Santiniketan, New Delhi, Varanasi, Kanpur, Lucknow, Mysore, Gwalior, Bhubaneswar, Annamalai, Kharagpur, Baripada and Thiruvananthapuram to promote research interest in these areas to researchers working in different fields like Physics, Mathematics, Musicology, Speech Science, Linguistics, Electronics and Computer Science.

For the first time the FRSM is to be organized in northeast region of India at National Institute of Technology Silchar, Assam. In continuation with the twenty four years of success the 25th Silver Jubilee edition of FRSM welcomes the researchers around the world to explore the natural beauty and Tea gardens of Assam. All the accepted and presented papers are proposed to publish in Springer LNCS Proceedings Series. The papers will be indexed in ISI Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science (CPCI-S), included in ISI Web of Science, DBLP, Google Scholar, EI-Compendex, Mathematical Reviews, SCImago, Scopus. Some outstanding papers are to be invited to submit as an extended paper in the reputed journals indexed in SCI, SCI-E, SCOPUS, ESCI and Web of Science. List of journals will be updated soon.

The continuation of these events would not have been possible without the active co-operation of ITC Sangeet Research Academy, Kolkata, SCVRCPM-Jadavpur University,Kolkata, CDAC-Kolkata, Indian Statistical Institute, Central Electronics Engineering Research Institute, BHU, Visva Bharati University, International School of Dravidian Linguistics, IIT Kanpur, Annamalai University, Utkal University, Uttar Pradesh Technical University, IITM Gwalior, All India Institute of Speech and Hearing, Mysore, IIT Kharagpur, NOU Baripada, NIT Rourkela, AIT Kanpur and Acoustical Society of India and active participation of various research groups particularly, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Indian Institute of Science, various IITs and Indian and foreign universities and institutions.

More Information

Our Speakers

The Speakers detail will be announced soon..

Organizing Institutes

      Host Institute                     Co-Organizing Institute


Important Dates

Full Paper of Submission                                                                    15 February 2020

Notification of Paper Acceptance                                                       15 June 2020

Camera-ready Paper Submission                                                         15 July 2020

Early Bird Registration                                                                        15 July 2020

Last Date of Registration                                                                     20 August 2020

Date of Conference                                                                              8-9 October 2020


Registration Type Early-bird Registration (on/before 15 july 2020) Late Registration (after 15 july 2020)
Indian (in INR) Foreign (in USD) Indian (in INR) Foreign (in USD)
Academician ₹ 5000 $ 220 ₹ 6000 $ 230
Retired Academician ₹ 3500 $ 220 ₹ 4500 $ 230
Student ₹ 2000 $ 190 ₹ 3000 $ 200
Attendee ₹ 2000 $ 70 ₹ 3000 $ 80
Industrial ₹ 7000 $ 240 ₹ 8000 $ 250

Note:The BIMSTEC countries can pay in Indian amount

Contact us


National Institute of Technology Silchar, Cachar, Assam, Pin Code- 788010.



For Paper Submission related query:  Email: frsm2020@nits.ac.in

For Registration related query:  Dr. Malaya Dutta Borah,   Email: malayaduttaborah@gmail.com

For Program schedule related query: Dr. Dalton Meitei Thounaojam, Email: dalton.meitei@gmail.com

For Accommodation related query:  Dr. Shyamapada Mukherjee,  Email: shyamamukherji@gmail.com

For VISA, Special Session, Sponsorship and other related query:    Email: chair_frsm2020@nits.ac.in